News   |   Rates   |   Calculators   |   Community   |   Locations
About Us
Locations
History of Community First
Media Center
Annual Reports
News
The Credit Union Difference
Become a Member
Career Center
Community
Community Calendar
Board of Directors
Awards & Recognition
Contact Us
Financial Literacy
Employee Center
ABA Routing Number

How can we help you?

Quick Links

Checking & Savings
Mortgage & Home Equity
Loans & Credit Cards
Auto Buying Service
Investments & Insurance
Become a Member
Community Focus
Ask Us A Question:
Home About UsMedia CenterNews

Mr. Lucky’s Team raises $3,159 through MS Walk

Almost $20,000 raised over six years by family, friends, co-workers to benefit multiple sclerosis research, advocacy

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Almost nine years have passed since Joe Bauer experienced some numbness while working out and was blindsided by a diagnosis of multiple sclerosis.

It is a chronic, often disabling disease where the body’s own immune system attacks the central nervous system, disrupting the flow of information within the brain and between the brain and body.

On April 28, Bauer was joined by family and friends for the local MS Walk at Appleton North High School.

This year’s team of 22 people raised $3,159 (including $1,509 through a casual day) to help the National MS Society fund research, advocate for change, and help people with MS. Over the six years, they have raised almost $20,000.

MS is not hereditary and has unpredictable severity and varying progression of symptoms. Bauer, who has been with Community First about 30 years, refers to himself as Mr. Lucky and does not consider himself a victim.

“Compared to others, I am very fortunate,” said Bauer, whose treatment once included injections every other day but now encompasses taking a pill two times per day. “I prefer to say I just ‘keep on keeping on.’

“Research is ongoing,” Bauer said. “I am encouraged a cure will be found someday. Developments happen frequently which provide help to make life better for those with MS.”

“My family (most notably my bride) has been over the top in their support for me,” Bauer said. “It is overwhelming the amount of support I have received from Community First. In addition to the jeans day, people joining our team and individuals making donations to our team, I have received an incredible amount of moral support and encouragement.”


print this page
tell a friend
Resize the font:
2020 FCCCU scholarship rules form
Monday, February 17, 2020
Cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs: Food bank volunteering proves inspirational
Monday, February 17, 2020
Exclusive Savings for Community First member-owners
Friday, February 14, 2020
Community First offers boost to Pillars’ Keys to Hope fundraiser
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Community First key partner in career, financial literacy center
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Community First scholarship recipient eager for future
Friday, January 24, 2020
Three $1,000 college scholarships offered by area credit unions, applications due March 13
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Nominations Open for Celebrating Volunteers Youth Scholarship
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Lifting spirits Police Lights of Christmas-style
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Thank you for leading the way in the fight against hunger
Monday, December 9, 2019
Waupaca celebrates members on 30th merger anniversary
Monday, November 25, 2019
Community First Champion Center a ‘testament to cooperation’
Friday, November 22, 2019
Police Lights of Christmas ‘just unbelievably special’
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Community First engaged in ringing in the holidays
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Community First volunteers get into Halloween spirit while helping local non-profits
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Help Stock the Shelves to fight hunger in Wisconsin
Friday, August 30, 2019
Fox Jazz Fest celebrates Wisconsin’s special connection to jazz
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Great Cover Up Diaper Drive draws donations from far and wide
Friday, July 19, 2019
Avid anglers love assisting youth on Community First Free Fishing Day
Thursday, July 11, 2019
‘Meraki Warriors’ Rally for a Reason in Green Bay
Friday, June 28, 2019
Volunteer of the Year, 92, likes break from ‘peace and quiet’
Friday, May 24, 2019
Appleton East’s Sydney Olmsted top youth volunteer
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Community First-sponsored Celebrate De Pere kicks off busy summer of events
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Mr. Lucky’s Team raises $3,159 through MS Walk
Friday, May 3, 2019
Community First and Sexual Assault Crisis Center chosen for Business Partnership honor
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Community First members awarded three $1,000 Greater Fox Cities Chapter of Credit Unions scholarships
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
FVTC student grateful for $500 Community First scholarship
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Honoring the Legacy of Community First Founder Maury Dresang
Friday, February 22, 2019
Community First CU teams serve up hope and compassion at Pillars
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Community First accepting donations to honor New London teenager killed in a tragic car crash
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Community rallying to help Manawa family after devastating home fire
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Applications, nominations open for Community First-sponsored scholarships
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Community First’s ‘Magic Minute’ shopping spree benefits individuals experiencing homelessness
Site Search:   Home    |    Contact Us    |    Site Map    |    Privacy Policy
Community First Credit Union   P.O. Box 1487  Appleton, WI    54912-1487 920.830.7200    1.866.273.2328
Web Design & Content Management System by Cambium Group, LLC