Print Now
Close Window

Nominations Open for Celebrating Volunteers Youth Scholarship

Deadline is Feb. 3 for Community First-sponsored Youth Scholarship and five other awards honoring volunteers

January 2, 2020

Nominations are now open for the Community First-sponsored Youth Scholarship Award as part of the annual Celebrating Volunteers Gala sponsored by the Community Foundation for the Fox Valley Region and NBC26.

The application deadline for nominees is Feb. 3. The Youth Scholarship Award includes a $1,000 donation to the nonprofit of the recipient’s choosing and a $1,500 scholarship for a graduating high school senior who has a proven passion for volunteering and who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in promoting volunteerism in the Fox Cities.  

Volunteers are an important part of what makes the Fox Cities region a great place to live, work and play and Community First is pleased to have sponsored the Youth Scholarship Award since its inception in 1998. The Youth Scholarship Award winner will be one of six recipients to be honored at the Celebrating Volunteers Gala on April 21. For more information, to submit a nomination or to learn more about 2019 award honorees, go to

The other 2020 awards/sponsors are: Business Partnership of the Year Award (SECURA Insurance), Health Care Volunteer Award (ThedaCare and Ascension), Walter L. Rugland Community Service Award (Thrivent), Paul and Elaine Groth Mentoring Award (Mielke Family Foundation) and Janet Berry Volunteer of the Year Award (Amcor Foundation).

The 2019 Youth Scholarship sponsored by Community First was awarded to Appleton East High School senior Sydney Olmsted.

<p>To learn more, click here:
<a href="">Sydney’s story</a>